Congratulations to Apprentice of the Year Zahn Anthony!

After a rigorous, independent selection process, CEPU SA member Zahn Anthony was crowned ETU and CEPU Apprentice of the Year 2023!

Zahn is a dedicated Union member of the SA branch and was selected by the independent judging panel for her outstanding leadership skills, her strong union values and her commitment to her trade. Zahn received her award at the ETU National Officer’s Conference, delivering a cracker impromptu speech that clearly showed her passion for the trade and the Union.

The winner and finalists were chosen by an independent judging panel who were highly impressed by the calibre of entrants, with Zahn being the major stand out.

“Zahn is a dedicated leader, active Union member, advocate and passionate champion for women entering the trade. She demonstrates her commitment and passion to the electrical trade through her apprenticeship and her enthusiasm for her training is evident. Zahn is no stranger to standing up and representing people, whether it’s in sport or her Union or the workplace,” said Jess Rogers, one of the independent judges.

As the winner, Zahn will attend the Global Power Trade Union Congress in Sweden in 2024 representing the ETU as an apprentice delegate.

In March, Zahn was also part of a national delegation of ETU and CEPU apprentices to Parliament House in Canberra to share their experiences and advocate for better mentoring and support for apprentices. She is passionate about getting more apprentices starting electrical trades and building a bright future for sparkies.

“We want to build a great future as much as you want to leave a great legacy,” she said to Union officials at the conference.

Congratulations also to runner ups Dan Feeger from Tasmania, Courtney Luca from Victoria and Sam Keating from Queensland.

“These apprentices are the future of our trades and our Union. Their passion, dedication and union spirit reassures me that our future is brighter than ever. Congratulations to Zahn and to all the apprentices for their outstanding applications.” said ETU National Secretary Michael Wright.

Thank you to the independent judging panel for generously volunteering their time throughout the selection process. The panel included Radmila Desic AM FAIB, Senior ICT Investment Consultant at the Queensland Government, Mark Burgess, CEO of Energy Skills Australia and Jess Rogers, Commissioner of the South Australian Employment Tribunal.

This article was publised on 30 October 2023.