SA CEPU member awarded the 2020 Bob Donnelly Award

This month, CEPU SA delegate Brenton Jack was presented with the 2020 Bob Donnelly Award for his dedication to his fellow union members.

This annual award is named in memory of the late CEPU SA State Secretary, Bob Donnelly. It is presented to a CEPU SA member, nominated by members, who is deemed by the SA State Council to have provided outstanding assistance and support to fellow union members throughout the year.

Brenton was nominated by five of his workmates on the Gawler Rail Electrification Project for being a solid delegate who stands up for his fellow members. Brenton also instituted and organised a fundraising effort for CEPU member Bob Cornish when he became gravely ill and in financial difficulty earlier this year.

“I was very honoured to receive this award. I do my best to support our members and encourage everyone to join the union, especially apprentices. My aim is to make our union stronger,” said Brenton.

“Brenton was an outstanding nominee, and a testament to our union values of solidarity and looking out for each other. It’s great to have the opportunity to recognise his excellent work,” said CEPU SA State Secretary, John Adley.

While Brenton won this year’s award, it was a hard decision for the state Council with worthy nominations for Jason Harrison, Rachel Lawley, Mark Alkanese, Mukesh Pal, Erin Hennessy, Max Mawby and Garth Bush.

Previous winners include Defence Industry Delegate and State Councillor Patrick Skeer (2017), Electrical Contracting Industry Delegate and State Councillor Adrian Valente (2018), Electricity Supply Industry Delegate and State Councillor Jason Lailey (2019.)

Well done to Brenton and to all the nominees, keep up the great work!

Pictured: Brenton Jack with CEPU SA State Secretary, John Adley. 

This article was publised on 21 December 2020.